FaceMagic
FaceMagic began as a mobile AI face-swap app in 2021 and now presents itself as a broader AI photo, face-swap and generative-video platform. Current evidence points to Deep Creation Limited as the app developer and trademark owner, while the original 2021 legal documents named DeepArt Limited.
Company identity & ownership
The strongest public trail separates the FaceMagic product from the legal entities that have operated or owned its IP. The evidence supports a change in ownership/operator structure, but it does not disclose the ultimate beneficial owners of Deep Creation Limited.
Founder / inventor investigation
UNVERIFIED Founder(s): Not publicly disclosed. No reliable primary source reviewed names an individual founder, CEO, CTO or inventor of FaceMagic.
UNVERIFIED “AI FaceMagic Team” could not be established as a legal entity, founder group or official corporate name.
A maker or launch account is not automatically a founder.
Ange (@angechris)
THIRD-PARTY VERIFIED ROLE
Product Hunt lists Ange as a Maker of FaceMagic and the account posted the May 2021 launch. FaceMagic’s blog also contains articles credited to “Ange Chris.”
Do not label as founder: available evidence supports “public launch maker / contributor,” not founder or inventor.
Current 2026 product ecosystem
| Feature | Current evidence | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Face Swap | Photo, GIF and video face swapping; current site also promotes multiple face swap. | COMPANY-REPORTED |
| Image-to-Video | Current Video Generator workflow; MagicVid and MagicVox model options appear in pricing. | COMPANY-REPORTED |
| Text-to-Video | Listed in current Video Generator navigation and current credit table. | COMPANY-REPORTED |
| Reference-to-Video | Current pricing lists MagicVox 1.0, 2.0 and 2.0 Pro credit rates. | COMPANY-REPORTED |
| Video Extend | Shown in current Video Generator navigation; detailed maximum extension not publicly verified. | COMPANY-REPORTED |
| AI Character | Current pricing: 0.2 credits per photo. | COMPANY-REPORTED |
| Smart Edit | Current pricing lists FaceMagic 2.0, MagicVox and MagicVox Pro processing tiers, including 2K options for some tiers. | COMPANY-REPORTED |
| API service | Official site provides an API Service contact address, but public API documentation, rate limits and enterprise pricing were not located. | COMPANY-REPORTED |
Model inventory & credit economics
| Model / system | Use shown publicly | Resolution / audio | Current web credit reference | Origin |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MagicVid 3.0 | Image/Text to Video; current generator labels it “New” and “Native 15s.” | Sound optional | 4 credits / 5s + 0.6 / 5s for sound | Not publicly disclosed |
| MagicVid 2.0 | Image/Text to Video | Sound optional | 3 credits / 5s + 0.6 / 5s for sound | Not publicly disclosed |
| MagicVox 2.0 Pro | Image/Text/Reference to Video | 720p / 1080p | 7 / 10 credits per 5s for I2V/T2V; reference mode can be higher | Not publicly disclosed |
| MagicVox 2.0 | Image/Text/Reference to Video | 720p / 1080p | 5 / 8 credits per 5s for I2V/T2V | Not publicly disclosed |
| MagicVox 1.0 / Lite | Legacy/current options still listed in web pricing | 720p / 1080p | 4–6 credits per 5s depending on tier | Not publicly disclosed |
| FaceMagic 2.0 | Smart Edit | Image editing | 0.3 credits / image | Not publicly disclosed |
Model names appearing in FaceMagic’s UI/pricing do not prove that the underlying models are proprietary. No reliable source reviewed disclosed model architecture, training datasets or third-party model providers.
Business model
Freemium consumer app + ads + in-app purchases + Pro subscription + paid credits. The Google Play developer response explicitly says subscriptions and ads are main revenue sources. API/enterprise revenue is possible but not publicly quantified.
Web Pro pricing
$9.99/month, 20 credits monthly, up to 10-minute video swap, credit-package discounts, encrypted content, priority queue and no watermark. Web pricing checked 6 Oct 2026; regional app-store pricing can differ.
Funding & revenue
Not publicly disclosed. No reliable FaceMagic-specific funding round, valuation, ARR, revenue or subscriber figure was found in the sources used for this profile.
Mobile app status
VERIFIED FaceMagic: AI Videos & Photos. Developer: Deep Creation Limited. 1M+ downloads, 2.1-star rating and ~18.1K reviews shown by Google Play; updated 1 Aug 2026.
Downloads are not active users.
THIRD-PARTY REPORTED The original iOS app (bundle ID 1566529086) is reported by app archives as removed from the App Store in March 2024, with final version 2.4.1. A current official iOS listing for the same original app was not verified in this research.
Timeline
Privacy, biometric data & safety
Historical 2021 policy: FaceMagic said uploaded photos/GIFs/videos were processed for face swapping, facial-feature data was used for the function, generated content was stored for 24 hours, and uploads were stored on remote servers in Hong Kong during use. It also stated it did not use those photos/facial features for face recognition or unique biometric identification. These are historical company statements, not an independent audit.
Current Google Play data-safety disclosure: the developer states no data is shared with third parties; the app may collect app activity, app info/performance and device/other IDs; data is encrypted in transit; users can request deletion.
Deepfake risk: FaceMagic can create convincing identity transformations. Historical terms prohibit unlawful, pornographic, privacy-invasive, child-exploitative and rights-infringing content and place responsibility on users. Independent reporting in 2022 raised concerns about non-consensual sexual deepfake use and advertising. The existence of restrictions does not by itself establish how effectively they are enforced.
Technology: what is known vs. not disclosed
[COMPANY-REPORTED] FaceMagic historically described “advanced face recognition technology” and processing through a “Deep Neural Network.” Current materials show model-branded generation systems, but do not publish technical architecture.
Not publicly disclosed: training datasets, face/video dataset provenance, model architecture, facial embeddings, landmark stack, identity-preservation method, GPU/cloud vendor, inference pipeline, temporal-consistency method, rendering stack, encryption implementation, latency benchmarks, open-source dependencies or third-party model/API providers.
General descriptions of GANs, autoencoders or DeepFaceLab on the FaceMagic blog should not be treated as proof that FaceMagic itself uses those exact architectures.
Competition & market position
Direct overlap: Reface, DeepSwap and FacePlay compete most closely in consumer face swapping, templates and social-ready content. Broader substitutes: Runway, Kling, Pika, CapCut and other generative-video editors compete for AI video creation time and spend but are not exact face-swap equivalents.
[INFERENCE] FaceMagic’s differentiation is its combination of legacy face-swap workflows with newer text/image/reference video generation and credit-based monetization in one consumer-oriented interface. The moat is unclear because model provenance, proprietary research and defensible technical IP are not publicly documented.
SWOT — analytical, not company-reported
- [INFERENCE] Established 2021 brand and mobile distribution.
- [INFERENCE] Broadening from face swap to multiple generative-video modes.
- [INFERENCE] Simple freemium + credits monetization.
- [INFERENCE] Low current Google Play rating (2.1).
- [INFERENCE] Corporate/operator history is difficult for users to follow.
- [INFERENCE] Limited public technical transparency.
- [INFERENCE] Creator workflows, social video and API licensing.
- [INFERENCE] Better consent/safety tooling could become a differentiator.
- [INFERENCE] Unified face identity + generative video could support character-consistent creation.
- [INFERENCE] Deepfake regulation and likeness-right litigation.
- [INFERENCE] Fast-moving competition from larger AI-video platforms.
- [INFERENCE] High inference cost and credit-price sensitivity.
Conflicting / unresolved information
Historical provider vs. current owner: 2021 FaceMagic legal pages name DeepArt Limited, while Google Play and trademark records now name Deep Creation Limited. The trademark assignment gives strong evidence of a rights transfer, but no public document reviewed explains the full transaction or whether Deep Creation acquired the whole FaceMagic business.
DeepArt / Insight Technology: 2022 reporting described Insight Technology LTD as a renamed/related operator identity. Current 2025 listing documents again identify DeepArt Limited inside the Xinguodu group. Because naming/operating roles changed over time, historical app-store names should not be used as proof of current ownership.
Founder identity: Product Hunt identifies “Ange” as a maker, but no reliable evidence reviewed establishes the account as the founder, CEO, inventor or legal owner.
Selected sources
| Source | What it supports | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| FaceMagic official website | Current feature positioning, face swap, multiple face swap, video generator navigation, API contact. | PRIMARY |
| FaceMagic pricing | MagicVid/MagicVox versions, AI Character, Smart Edit and current credit charges. | PRIMARY |
| Subscription Terms | $9.99/month Pro, 20 credits/month, 10-minute video swap, priority queue, encryption/no watermark claims. | PRIMARY |
| Google Play | Current developer, address, 1M+ downloads, ratings/reviews, 1 Aug 2026 update and Data Safety disclosures. | PRIMARY |
| Historical Terms of Use · 17 May 2021 | DeepArt Limited as original provider; historical content rules and service description. | PRIMARY / HISTORICAL |
| Historical Privacy Policy · 17 May 2021 | DeepArt Limited, upload/facial-feature handling and historical retention statements. | PRIMARY / HISTORICAL |
| Canadian Trademarks Database · FACEMAGIC 2108715 | Deep Creation Limited as registered owner; assignment from Xinguodu AI effective 26 Jan 2024. | GOVERNMENT |
| Hong Kong Companies Registry · Mar 2023 | Deep Creation Limited incorporation date and company number. | GOVERNMENT |
| Hong Kong Companies Registry · Apr 2021 | DeepArt Limited incorporation date and company number. | GOVERNMENT |
| HKEX draft listing document · 2025 | DeepArt Limited shown as a 100%-owned software subsidiary inside the Xinguodu group. | REGULATORY FILING |
| Product Hunt · FaceMagic | 2021 launch, maker account “Ange”, original face-swap positioning. | SECONDARY |
| netzpolitik.org · 2022 | Independent historical reporting on operator identities, Xinguodu group relationship and deepfake safety concerns. | INDEPENDENT |
Research rule used: when a fact could not be established with reliable evidence, it is marked “Not publicly disclosed” or “Unverified.” Company claims are not presented as independently audited facts.